Your Nav Bar Here

Saturday, October 22, 2005

Homesickness, Dang you!!!

It's not easy being alone when you grow up with more than 4 people in your house at all times=) Homesickness is the worst at night, I don't know why, but it's keeping me up=( I can't wait till this place feels like an old shoe, but probably at that time it'll be time to go home, hmm . . . Missing LA

Thursday, October 20, 2005

Food Finds

So another excursion of the day was the Ferry Building Farmer's Market. Apparently the Ferry building opened in 1898 and was the main gateway for people to come to San Francisco before the Golden Gate and Bay Bridges were built. It's right on the water and you can get a beautiful view of the Bay Bridge. Also when you drive in from the Bay Bridge you can't miss the building because it has a huge sign saying "San Francisco."

You can still get a Ferry ride here but it now also houses the Ferry Building Farmers Market. It's gourmet foods galore here. Wine, chocolate, seafood, cheese, bakeries, I want to live inside this place.

One highlight was the Miette Patisserie, a Food Network favorite. They sell great cakes and cupcaked and I bought some lemon shortbread cookies that I really would give a kidney for, for a life time supply. Yum!

I also decided to get some ingredients for grilled cheese sandwhiches for the times I'm stuck in my hotel room. It was easy to do with the Cowgirl Creamery Cheese Shop being right next to the ACME Bread Company. Mmm, grilled Cheese, or if I get really fancy, Croque Monsier.

Pics from the day:

Inside the Ferry Building Farmer's Market


A view from behind the building. The Bay Bridge


Dork Picture Opportunity: Me and the Bay Bridge


Farmer's Market Bounty: Miette packaging


Cookies you would donate an organ for


Miette Cupcakes: Chocolate Coffee Buttercream and Gingerbread with Cream Cheese Frosting


Grilled Cheese ingredients


Sort of grilled cheese without the grilling part. It's toaster oven cheese sangwhich=)

First Day Out/Cable Car Hook Up

(Grrr, I'm kinda mad cause I had written this entry earlier today but became so freaked out with doing work stuff that I didn't save it=(... and it was so witty, hahha)
So I started the day a little bit later and walking up in that "Where am I state?" because of my new surroundings. No pink walls, or christmas lights and chinese paper laterns hanging from my ceiling like in my bedroom at home=/ Today I decided to take the city by storm, hahah, well actually just try to do some sightseeing and get somewhere interesting.

Unlike LA, San Francisco has a pretty well thought out transportation system with taxis, buses, trolleys, famous cable cars and even a subway system! But you know being new to San Francisco you've got to do what the typical touristy thing is, the cable car. You know those things you see on Rice-A-Roni commercials, the San Francisco treat! Well today was my lucky day as far as the cable cars were concerned.

I must of had this "ooh look at me. I'm an independent young woman and I'm in this new city, life is great, I'm gonna throw my hat in the air like Mary Tyler Moore" look on my face because I was in a reallly great mood. Just thanking God for the gorgeous views of this city that I laid eyes on and I guess it showed becuase I got to ride the cable car for free, not just once, but twice!!! I saved $10!!!! Hahah, the first time was kinda my fault becuase I didn't know that you had to pay the conductor when you first jump on. My confused self tried to pay as I got off and the conductor was like "oh don't worry about it." On the way back I jumped on the cable car again thinking, "oh now I'll use the $5 that I didn't spend on the first ride to get back home." Well the conductor was extra nice and asked me where I was being dropped off at. I told him and proceeded to give him my money when he said "Put your money away, and take a seat where you'll get a great view" and shushed me before I objected!=) Super awesome!!!! I think I'm gonna like this town.

More Pics from the day:

Cable Cars lined up and ready to go


Pic of Chinatown from the cable car


A big pagoda like building in Chinatown


A really cool looking modern building. I wish we had some like this in LA. The pic looks a little slanted though, the cable car must have been going down a hill!


Aww gorgeous shot looking down the hill from the cable car to the Financial district. you can see the Bay Bridge all the way in the background

Wednesday, October 19, 2005

My first place, kind of

So working on this show kinda has some nice perks. As soon as I touched down I was handed a production cell phone where I was instructed to make all my calls on, even the personal ones! I'm not that used to that kind of treatment so I was pleasantly surprised to find out that my hotel room was actually a little apartment suite all for myself! Now I know some of you have probably been out on your own since you hit the 18 mark, but being a Filipino-American female, I'm still livin at my parents house, as sad as that seems, but hey I've got two words for that "free rent". Haha, so technically for this month I've got my own place, woohoo!!!

The Outside of the Apartment Hotel








Here's my hallway












My Bedroom/Living Room












My Kitchen












My Stove/oven












My dishwasher












I bought diet coke for my fridge!












Aww, sweet freedom!

On my way!


So here's me, waiting in the airport. Wow, I don't think you really know how much of a dork you are until you're really by yourself. Its' the first time I'm flying alone, and for business purposes! When did I ever grow up? I still feel like a kid. I think I'm gonna have to order some business cards, then adulthood will be official.

Monday, October 10, 2005

Open that Golden Gate!

So I will be living in San Frisco for a month and this blog will be documenting my adventures here! Hopefully the blog (and the trip) will be fun, exciting and super cool=)